Karla Villegas

Affiliate Manager


Spanish AM with a passion for singing

Karla Villegas

Personal bio

Karla grew up in Queretaro, Mexico, where she spent much of her childhood following her passion for music and singing. Attending music school, she learned piano for over ten years whilst singing in numerous church and school choirs, operas and cantatas.

A lover of the great outdoors, Karla was also a Scout for 15 years, and it was through attending an International Scout Camp in Scotland that she got her first taste of the U.K.

Karla continued to sing in her University choir whilst studying for a degree in Business Marketing, and after graduating, she gained her first work experience in the marketing world with local football team, Queretaro F.C, where she developed marketing strategies for the club.

She went on to work on the creation and execution of branding, promotion and administration for several start-up companies, before becoming the Marketing and Communications Manager for an NGO (non-governmental organisation) that gave labour advice to thousands of workers from different companies within several industry sectors.

After marrying, Karla moved to the UK, her Scottish husband’s home country, in January 2014. In August of the same year, she joined the Twist Team as a Junior Affiliate Manager in her first UK based job. Alongside working full time, marrying, and moving countries, Karla has also been working on a personal challenge; completing a PhD in Administration with a research line on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). She aims to utilise her CSR experience, as well as her Spanish language skills to add even more value in her role at MoreNiche.

Outside of the office, Karla can still be found singing, and will never lose her passion for music.  A keen football fan, she also enjoys running, travelling, watching films and Tweeting.


Q&A

What is your favourite drink?

Coffee

What is your favourite film?

I have too many!

Who is your childhood hero?

Batman

Where is your favourite place?

Mexico

What qualifications do you hold?

BA in Marketing, Masters in Administration

Tell us an interesting fact about yourself?

I used to sing in a rock band for three years

What is your favourite Picture/Image?

Monet’s “Water Lilies”

monet

Do you have children/pets? Tell us about them:

I don’t have any pets or children… yet!

What would you like to be when you grow up?

Happy and successful

How would your best friend describe you?

Friendly, caring, responsible

What is your biggest achievement to date?

I’m not far from finishing a PhD

If you could recommend one website online, what would it be and why?

Google. You can find anything you want