Rui Matos

Conversion Specialist


Improving merchant performance everyday

Rui Matos

Personal bio

Brand Manager Rui grew up in Figueira da Foz, Portugal and holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Marketing.

Following university at the Polytechnic Institute of Leiria, Rui gained some work experience in the IT industry and worked on several freelancing projects involving SEO, branding and web design before moving to the UK and joining the MoreNiche team in June of 2013.

With a strong passion for IT from a young age, Rui has now achieved his ultimate goal of working in an Internet Marketing related role.

The experience Rui has gained since working at MoreNiche has given him a far wider range of skills to aid him in improving both merchant and affiliate performance. He now manages the marketing of top-selling brands such as Bauer Nutrition and Testogen, ensuring their growth while constantly improving their daily sales performance.

As a native Portuguese speaker, Rui still does his fair share of translation and web design freelancing work, with most of his freelance time being spent on English to Portuguese translations.

On a more personal level, Rui loves animals and owns two black Labradors back home in Portugal which he visits whenever possible. He is also deeply passionate about football and supports the Portuguese Premier League Football Team Sporting (www.sporting.pt). However, he is more than happy to watch any good games from top European Leagues whenever he has a chance.


Q&A

What is your favourite drink?

Lipton Iced Tea Peach and Baileys (although not together!)

What is your favourite film?

Lord of the Rings

Who is your childhood hero?

Rocky Balboa

Where is your favourite place?

Algarve, Portugal

What qualifications do you hold?

A Bachelor’s degree in Marketing

Tell us an interesting fact about yourself?

I didn’t like fizzy drinks before coming to live in the UK and was actually considering putting water as the answer to the favourite drink question!

What is your favourite Picture/Image?

Picture coming

 

Do you have children/pets?

My two black Labradors, Java and Luna, who still live back home in Portugal, although I travel back to see them regularly. My family volunteered to train a guide dog for a year in a family environment. We were given Java, who unfortunately failed her medical exams at a year old after the detection of a hip dysplasia, which ended her career path as a guide dog, but we got to keep her. Luna was the result of an unexpected pregnancy for Java.

What would you like to be when you grow up?

A veterinarian.

How would your best friend describe you?

Friendly, Stubborn and Persistent

What is your biggest achievement to date?

Achieving a Black Belt in Karate

If you could recommend one website online, what would it be and why?

http://www.matthewwoodward.co.uk

A blog I would recommend to any digital marketer out there. With pretty much daily articles, it provides a lot of top notch information for newbies to learn the basics of internet marketing and for advanced users to optimize their sites and online campaigns.